TSD

Welcome to the Technische Sammlungen Dresden.
From 5 May 2020 our finalist exhibition will be open to you again – at half the admission price. We are looking forward to your visit!

Please note the special regulations for further containment of the corona virus.


Artwork Descriptions


Raul Ariano

LGBT in China

The Chinese LGBT community has been widely discriminated since 1979, when the Communist Party criminalised it for “hooliganism”. In 1997, the Chinese government abolished “hooliganism” – including homosexual activities – as a crime. In 2001, homosexuality was finally removed from the list of psychiatric disorders, yet the LGBT community still feel stigmatised.

Tom Atwood

Kings & Queens in Their Castles

»Kings & Queens in Their Castles« has been called one of the most ambitious photo series ever conducted of the LGBTQ experience in the USA. Over 15 years, Atwood photographed more than 350 subjects at home nationwide. With individuals from 30 states, Atwood offers a window into the lives and homes of some of America’s most intriguing and eccentric personalities.

Aram Alexander Balakjian

Dreams of a Life

The migration crisis may be declared over, but Greece’s immigration system is at breaking point and its overcrowded camps have descended into chaos. In the country’s western port city of Patras, some of the most able – men and boys as young as 13 – risk everything in an attempt to escape the bureaucratic quagmire.

Lionel Briot

INSTAnts d’ANnéeS

A series of intimate portraits of old people with a systematic approach: each portrait is realised in the form of diptychs in order to represent the complex reality of the sitter but also to show intimacy. The photos were taken with Polaroid film. This allowed me to share my work with my sitters and thus create a special bond.

Danilo Garcia Di Meo

Quatrani

Quatrani (kwah-trah-nee) is the for “youngsters” used in the italian city of l’Aquila. It has been ten years since the earthquake that shook l’Aquila, causing people to end up homeless, injured or dead: „When an earthquake takes away the place you are from you need to find it again. Find it where there not a thing in sight but you have nothing more to ask for than the company of your family and friends.“

Rory Doyle

Delta Hill Riders

Historians agree that just after the Civil War, one in four cowboys were African American. Yet this population was drastically underrepresented in popular accounts, and it is still. The “cowboy” identity retains a strong presence in many contemporary black communities. This ongoing documentary project in the Mississippi Delta, “Delta Hill Riders,” sheds light on an overlooked black subculture — one that resists historical and current stereotypes.

Natalia Ershova

Journey to the edge of the room

The heroes of my project are people who barely ever leave their home. They live in the Internet. Some of them have a lot of friends, but they communicate to them only online or in their homes. And some of them are just modern hermits. They are an overacted version of internet addiction and social loneliness.

Tim Franco

Illicit Ink

An obscure South Korean law makes tattooing technically illegal. Although this does not stop a growing number of underground tattoo parlors to open in people’s home or in hidden rooms, it does pose a challenge for a young generation looking to express themselves beyond the imposed ideal South Korean look. A new generation of Koreans influenced by pop stars, Western athletes and television programs see tattoos as attractive and fashionable. But the ban remains in place.

Milan Gies

State of Identity

Over the years many intellectuals have struggled to understand and define the notion of identity. Is identity rigid or more fluid? Does such a thing as a man or a woman exists, or do these labels just serve the purpose of maintaining social order. What if you happened to be born in the wrong body and you have no choice but to confront your initial gender identity?

Andy Happel

While the moonlight showers upon my dark robe

China, the most populated country in the world, changes fast these days. Instead of living according to their parents’ wishes, young Chinese demand self-realization and self-determination. There is one thing most of them have in common: they have to deal with the pressure and conservative expectations of their families and society.

Mohammad Rakibul Hasan

The Looted Honor

In 2017, Myanmar militaries started killing Rohingyas, burnt their houses, looted their belongings and raped many women who later delivered unwanted child in refugee camps in Bangladesh. The ethnic cleansing started in 1978. The unfortunate Muslim minor community of the Rohingyas had no citizenship of Myanmar and was not allowed to travel anywhere. They never attended high school, never had good health access and never knew about birth control.

Paulina Hildesheim

Retired Republic

What would our everyday world look like if it was made by and for seniors? Would Helene Fischer be Chancellor? Or Konrad Adenauer? What happens when there are more and more pensioners, but at the same time fewer and fewer people in employment? It seems utopian that the next generation, most of whom grew up in peace and prosperity, will ever receive a state pension. A country constructed for old people, ruled by old people, is that the future?

JT

Wild Grass – China’s Orphans

During a trip to China of 2014, I met many »left behind children« . Their vitality which is like the wild grass touched me a lot. One day I saw a newspaper reporting that seven children died of a fire at an orphanage in 2013, in Henan. This tragedy was the starting point for my project. From 2014 to 2017, I visited more than 20 orphanages all over China. They are not recognized by law, putting them in an awkward situation and making it difficult for children in it to integrate into mainstream society.

Carla Kogelman

I am Waldviertel

In 2012 I was commissioned by a children’s theater festival in Austria to document the rural Waldviertel. I ended up in Merkenbrechts, a small village where I became friends with Sonja, Hannah and Alena. From 2012 – 2019 I spent weeks with them every year. What you see in these photographs is an era of inquisitiveness, cheerfulness and warmth. It makes us all melancholic and calm. Children splash around in the lake, romp through the garden, wade through the mud… A life in harmony with nature.

Ingar Krauss

Migrant Workers

Germany has a long tradition of employing harvest hands from different countries as seasonal workers. Still today intensively cultivated fruit and vegetables require large amounts of cheap labour. Every year around 300.000 harvest hands come to Germany, mainly from Eastern Europe. The workers on the large asparagus farms near Berlin are only men because the asparagus harvest is a physical exhausting manual work. Most of the workers come from the poor rural areas in Poland or Romania.

Rosa Mariniello

VITILIGO

Vitiligo is a chronic condition characterized by depigmented patches of skin due to the loss of melanocytes. It affects 1 to 2% of the world’s population regardless of age, sex or ethnic background. Sufferers undergo a change that is physical as well as psychological, because the condition can adversely affect their social interactions, their romantic and sexual relationships, and their career. No cure currently exists.

Yvonne Most

The memories of others

As a granddaughter of a Sudeten-German family and photographer, I did some research on my family roots, both in the old and in the new surroundings. I came across collective experiences of flight and displacement. However, my photo series also opens up a new view of a region, a landscape with overgrown scars that is not standing still, but is constantly evolving.

Jana Sophia Nolle

Shelter Project

In American society, the gap between rich and poor is growing. Emblematic of this increasingly stark social divide is San Francisco, a city full of contrasts: so much wealth against a backdrop of very visible poverty and homelessness. The photographs document a series of staged portraits of homeless people inside their improvised dwellings on the streets. Besides the portraits, homeless people were asked to share their construction plans or lists of materials.

Ingmar Björn Nolting

Somaliland

The borders of Somaliland go back to the area of a British protectorate. Under the dictatorship of Siad Barre, who seized power through a putsch, the inhabitants of the north felt increasingly deprived. The resulting fights of the guerilla group »Somaliland National Movement« against the troops of Barre culminated in the overthrow of the regime and the founding of the Republic of Somaliland on 18 May 1991. Its independence is not recognized under international law.

Mykhaylo Palinchak

Maidan Faces

In 2014, during Euromaidan or »Revolution of Dignity« as it is called in Ukraine, 98 protesters were killed in clashes with riot police in the center of Kyiv, Ukraine. Five years later I walked the street where most of the protesters were killed that day and noticed photos of those people left by relatives and friends. Over time, the photos began to fade, the colors swam, some of them crept in with the mold, while others almost completely erased almost the same way like time fading our memory of those events.

Simon Schwyzer

Scopophobia

Scopophobia refers to the pathological fear of turning attention to oneself e.g. the fear of being seen, looked at or stared at. Starting and deviating from the objectifying conditions of photography, I ask what the portrait of a person affected by this fear would look like. In its multi-layered implementation of image and captions, a collectively created image emerges in 64 individuals audiograms.
The image stands visualized and assigned to the speakers voice while saying an assigned word.

Andrea Signori

Chang’aa. Kill me fast

Made from distilled maize and millet, but sometimes adulterated with acid and even petrol, chang’aa is the highly potent brew that is destroying Kenya. Its nickname is “kill me fast”. Chang’aa is highly addictive and increasingly popular in the country’s poorest areas. Consumption leads to loss of bodily functions, forms of blindness and mental problems. Women are selling their bodies to pay for it while men are trading it for day’s work or in exchange for agricultural products. The government has set up numerous rehabilitation centres all over the country. But will these be enough?

Jeffrey Stockbridge

Kensington Blues

»Kensington Blues« is a portrait photography project of those who live along Kensington Avenue in North Philadelphia. Like many rust belt cities in the U.S., industrial restructuring of the mid twentieth century lead to a sharp economic decline including high unemployment and a significant population loss in certain areas. Today, Kensington Avenue is infamous for drug abuse and prostitution. Women populate every street corner. Drugs such as heroin, Meth, Crack, Xanax and K2 are sold out in the open.

Mirja Maria Thiel

Farewell Sonata

»Farewell Sonata« tells the last few years of Helmut and Gisela, who have spent almost their entire life together. They grew up just two streets apart. Helmut was diagnosed with Alzheimer in his early seventies. Until his death, Gisela takes care of her husband at home. In April 2018, Helmut died after more than 14 years with Alzheimer’s disease and 63 years of marriage.

Ada Trillo

If Walls Could Speak

As a teenager I traveled back and forth from my birth place Juarez, Mexico, to El Paso, Texas, where I attended school. As an American citizen, I was able to to make this trip quite easily, but I became aware of the difficulties of others trying to cross the same boundary. In 2017, I returned to my hometown of Juarez to focus on a project about asylum seekers. Under the Trump administration, many migrants are trapped in border towns along the US/Mexico border.

Sebastian Wells

Hongkong (2019)

Portraits of protesters at the Anti-Extradiction-Bill demonstrations in Hong Kong.

Agata Wieczorek

Fetish of the Image

The project explores Masking, a fetish subculture, in Hong Kong, China and across Europe. Masking is practiced mostly by men and employs realistic silicone costumes imitating human body. It is rooted in the idea that human identity consists of multiple genders instead of only one, whereas the identity is understood as a matter of individual choice in place of bestowed or imposed quality.

Some selected photographs of the artist series can also be found in our current catalogue.

TSD

Besucherführung

Willkommen bei den Technischen Sammlungen Dresden.


Serienbeschreibungen

Raul Ariano

LGBT (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans) in China

Die chinesische LGBT-Gemeinschaft ist seit 1979, als die Kommunistische Partei sie wegen „Rowdytums“ unter Strafe stellte, weitgehend diskriminiert. 1997 hob die chinesische Regierung den Strafbestand „Rowdytum“ – einschließlich homosexueller Aktivitäten – als Verbrechen auf. Im Jahr 2001 wurde die Homosexualität endgültig von der Liste der psychiatrischen Erkrankungen gestrichen, die LGBT-Community sieht sich jedoch weiterhin stigmatisiert.

Tom Atwood

Hoheiten in ihren Schlössern

»Hoheiten in ihren Schlössern« ist eines der ehrgeizigsten Fotoprojekte, die das Lebensgefühl der LGBTQ-Gemeinschaft in den USA sichtbar zu machen versuchen. Über 15 Jahre lang fotografierte Tom Atwood mehr als 350 Personen in dreißig Bundesstaaten der USA. Er bietet Einblicke in das Leben und in die Häuser von einigen der faszinierendsten und exzentrischsten Persönlichkeiten Amerikas.

Aram Alexander Balakjian

Träume eines Lebens

Die “Migrationskrise” der Gegenwart ist offiziell für beendet erklärt worden sein, aber das griechische Einwanderungssystem ist nahe am Zusammenbruch. In den völlig überfüllten Lagern regiert das Chaos. In Patras, einer Hafenstadt im Westen des Landes, setzen Männer und Jugendliche all ihre Kräfte ein, um dem bürokratischen Sumpf zu entkommen.

Lionel Briot

MOmente der JAhre

Eine Serie intimer Porträts von alten Menschen: Jedes Porträt wird in vergleichbarer Weise als Diptychon realisiert, um die komplexe Wirklichkeit des Porträtierten zu erfassen, aber auch Intimität zu zeigen. Die Fotos wurden auf Polaroidfilm aufgenommen. Dies ermöglichte es mir, meine Bilder meinen Modellen sofort zu zeigen und so eine besondere Beziehung zu schaffen.

Danilo Garcia Di Meo

Quatrani – Die Jugendlichen von L’Aquila

„Quatrani“ ist die Bezeichnung für “Halbstarke” in der italienischen Stadt l’Aquila. Seit dem Erdbeben in l’Aquila, durch das viele Menschen obdachlos wurden, verletzt oder gestorben sind, sind zehn Jahre vergangen. „Wenn ein Erdbeben dir deine Heimat nimmt, musst du sie wiederfinden. Finde sie dort, wo nichts mehr zu sehen ist, aber wo es dich nach nichts so stark verlangt wie der Gesellschaft deiner Familie und Freunde.“

Rory Doyle

Cowboys im Mississippi-Delta

Historiker wissen, dass nach dem amerikanischen Bürgerkrieg jeder vierte Cowboy Afroamerikaner war. Bis heute ist dieser Teil der Bevölkerung im Bewusstsein der Nation unterrepräsentiert, auch wenn dies innerhalb der schwarzen Gemeinschaften anders aussieht. „Delta Hill Riders“, eine Langzeit-Dokumentation im Mississippi-Delta, macht eine schwarze Subkultur sichtbar- eine Subkultur, die anders ist, als die historischen und aktuellen Klischees.

Natalia Ershova

Reise zum anderen Ende des Zimmers

Die Protagonisten meines Projekts sind Menschen, die ihre Wohnung kaum jemals verlassen. Sie leben im Internet. Einige von ihnen haben viele Freunde, aber sie kommunizieren nur online oder zu Hause mit ihnen. Einige von ihnen sind so etwas wie moderne Einsiedler. Sie repräsentieren eine Extrem-Variante von Internetsucht und sozialer Einsamkeit.

Tim Franco

Verbotene Tinte

Einem kuriosen Gesetz zufolge sind Tattoos in Südkorea illegal. Obwohl es nicht verhindert, dass es eine wachsende Anzahl von geheimen Tattoo-Salons etwa in Privatwohnungen gibt, stellt das Gesetz eine Herausforderung besonders für die junge Generation Südkoreas dar. Von Popstars, westlichen Sportlern und dem Fernsehprogrammen beeinflusst, sieht sie Tätowierungen als attraktiv und modisch an. Das Verbot bleibt jedoch in Kraft.

Milan Gies

Identitätsstatus

Im Laufe der Zeit haben sich viele Intellektuelle mit dem Begriff der Identität befasst. Ist Identität starr oder eher flexibel? Gibt es so etwas wie DEN Mann oder DIE Frau oder dienen diese Bezeichnungen nur der Aufrechterhaltung der sozialen Ordnung? Was ist, wenn man im falschen Körper geboren wurde und keine andere Wahl hat, als sich mit der ursprünglichen Geschlechtsidentität auseinanderzusetzen?

Andy Happel

Während das Mondlicht auf mich fällt

China, das bevölkerungsreichste Land der Welt, verändert sich rasend schnell. Anstatt nach den Wünschen ihrer Eltern zu leben, fordern junge Chinesen Selbstverwirklichung und Selbstbestimmung ein. Eines haben die meisten von ihnen gemeinsam: Sie müssen sich mit dem Druck und den konservativen Haltungen ihrer Familien und der Gesellschaft auseinandersetzen.

Mohammad Rakibul Hasan

Der Raub der Ehre

2017 begann das Militär in Myanmar, Rohingyas zu töten, ihre Häuser niederzubrennen, ihre Habseligkeiten zu plündern und Frauen zu vergewaltigen, die ihre Kinder später in Flüchtlingslagern in Bangladesch zur Welt brachten. Die ethnische Säuberung hatte schon 1978 begonnen. Die unglückliche muslimische Minderheit der Rohingyas wurde staatenlos, sie durfte nicht reisen, hatte keinen Zugang zu höherer Bildung und zum Gesundheitssystem.

Paulina Hildesheim

Republik im Ruhestand

Wie sähe unsere Umgebung aus, wenn sie von und für Seniorinnen und Senioren gemacht wäre? Wäre Helene Fischer Bundeskanzlerin? Oder doch Konrad Adenauer? Was passiert, wenn es immer mehr Rentnerinnen und Rentner gibt, gleichzeitig aber immer weniger Erwerbstätige? Dass die Nachwendegeneration, zumeist in Frieden und Wohlstand aufgewachsen, jemals eine staatliche Rente bekommen wird, scheint utopisch. Ein Land, für Alte konstruiert, von Alten regiert, ist das die Zukunft?

JT

Wildgräser – Chinas Waisenkinder

Während einer China-Reise 2014 bin ich vielen »zurückgelassenen Kindern« begegnet. Ihre Vitalität, Wildgräsern gleich, hat mich sehr berührt. Eines Tages las ich in der Zeitung, dass sieben Kinder in einem Waisenhaus in Henan bei einem Brand gestorben waren. Diese Tragödie war der Ausgangspunkt für mein Projekt. Von 2014 bis 2017 besuchte ich mehr als 20 Waisenhäuser in ganz China. Sie arbeiten in einer rechtlichen Grauzone unter schwierigsten Umständen. Dadurch wird es für die Kinder noch schwieriger, sich in die Gesellschaft zu integrieren.

Carla Kogelman

Ich bin Waldviertel

2012 wurde ich von einem Kindertheaterfestival in Österreich beauftragt, das ländliche Waldviertel zu fotografieren. Ich landete in Merkenbrechts, einem kleinen Dorf, in dem ich mich mit Sonja, Hannah und Alena anfreundete. Von 2012 bis 2019 habe ich jedes Jahr einige Wochen mit ihnen verbracht. Was in diesen Fotografien sichtbar wird, ist eine Ära der Neugier, Fröhlichkeit und Wärme. Sie machen uns melancholisch und beruhigen. Die Kinder planschen im See herum, tummeln sich im Garten, waten durch den Schlamm… Es ist ein Leben im Einklang mit der Natur.

Ingar Krauss

Wanderarbeiter

In Deutschland hat es Tradition, Erntehelfer aus anderen Ländern als Saisonarbeiter zu beschäftigen. Noch heute benötigt der Obst- und Gemüseanbau viele billige Arbeitskräfte. Jährlich kommen rund 300.000 Erntehelfer vorwiegend aus Osteuropa nach Deutschland. Die Arbeiter auf den großen Spargelfarmen bei Berlin sind ausschließlich Männer, denn die Spargelernte ist körperlich anstrengende Handarbeit. Die meisten von ihnen kommen aus armen ländlichen Gebieten in Polen oder Rumänien.

Rosa Mariniello

VITILIGO

Vitiligo oder „Weißfleckenkrankheit“ ist eine chronische Erkrankung, bei der weiße, pigmentfreie Partien der Haut entstehen. 1 bis 2% der Weltbevölkerung sind betroffen, unabhängig von Alter, Geschlecht oder ethnischer Herkunft. Patienten sind Veränderungen sowohl physischer als auch psychologischer Natur ausgesetzt, da die Krankheit sämtliche Bereiche ihres Lebens nachteilig beeinflussen kann. Es gibt derzeit keine Heilung von Vitiligo.

Yvonne Most

Die Erinnerungen der Anderen

Als Enkelin einer Familie mit sudetendeutscher Herkunft bin ich meinen familiären Wurzeln fotografisch nachgegangen, sowohl in der alten als auch in der neuen Heimat. Dabei bin ich auf kollektive Erfahrungen von Flucht und Vertreibung gestoßen. Meine Fotoserie eröffnet aber auch einen neuen Blick auf eine Region, eine Landschaft mit verwachsenen Narben, die nicht stehengeblieben ist, sondern sich stetig weiterentwickelt.

Jana Sophia Nolle

Hüttenprojekt

In der amerikanischen Gesellschaft wächst die Kluft zwischen Arm und Reich. Sinnbild für diese immer stärker werdende soziale Kluft ist San Francisco, eine Stadt voller Kontraste – so viel Reichtum vor dem Hintergrund sehr sichtbarer Armut und Obdachlosigkeit. Die Fotografien dokumentieren eine Reihe von inszenierten Porträts von Obdachlosen in ihren improvisierten Hütten. Neben den Porträts wurden Obdachlose gebeten, ihre Baupläne oder Materiallisten aufzuzeichnen.

Ingmar Björn Nolting

Somaliland

Die Grenzen von Somaliland gehen auf das Gebiet eines britischen Protektorats zurück. Unter der Diktatur von Siad Barre, der durch einen Putsch an die Macht kam, wurden die Bewohner des Nordens zunehmend benachteiligt. Die daraus resultierenden Kämpfe der Guerillagruppe »Somaliland National Movement« gegen die Truppen von Barre führten am 18. Mai 1991 zum Sturz des Regimes und zur Gründung der Republik Somaliland, deren Unabhängigkeit nach internationalem Recht nicht anerkannt ist.

Mykhaylo Palinchak

Gesichter des Maidan

Während des Euromaidans 2014 oder der »Revolution der Würde«, wie sie in der Ukraine heißt, wurden im Zentrum von Kiew 98 Demonstranten bei Zusammenstößen mit der Bereitschaftspolizei getötet. Fünf Jahre danach ging ich die Straße entlang, auf der die meisten Demonstranten getötet worden waren, und bemerkte ihre Fotos, die von Verwandten und Freunden zurückgelassen wurden. Im Laufe der Zeit waren die Fotos verblasst, die Farben verliefen, einige befiel der Schimmel, während sich andere allmählich auflösten, wie unsere Erinnerungen an diese Ereignisse, die mit der Zeit verblassen.

Simon Schwyzer

Scopophobie

Skopophobie steht als Krankheitsbegriff für pathologische Angst, für die Furcht, Aufmerksamkeit auf sich zu lenken; gesehen, angeschaut oder angestarrt zu werden. Ausgehend von den objektivierenden Bedingungen der Fotografie frage ich mich, wie das Porträt einer von dieser Angst betroffenen Person aussehen würde. Durch die mehrschichtige Überlagerung von Bildern und Bildunterschriften entstand ein kollektiv erstelltes Bild in 64 Audiogrammen. Das Bild ist eine Visualisierung, die der Stimme des jeweiligen Sprechers eines bestimmten Wortes zugeordnet wird.

Andrea Signori

Chang’aa. Bring mich um

Aus Mais und Hirse hergestellt, manchmal mit Batteriesäure und Benzin gestreckt, ist Chang’aa das Gebräu, das ganz Kenia zerstört. Sein Spitzname ist „Bring mich um”. Chang’aa macht sofort süchtig und wird in den ärmsten Gegenden des Landes immer beliebter. Sein Konsum führt zum Verlust von Körperfunktionen, Blindheit und zu psychischen Problemen. Frauen verkaufen ihren Körper, um dafür zu bezahlen, während Männer es für Tagelöhnerarbeit erhalten oder gegen Erntefrüchte eintauschen. Die Regierung hat im ganzen Land zahlreiche Rehabilitationszentren eingerichtet. Aber werden diese ausreichen?

Jeffrey Stockbridge

Kensington Blues

»Kensington Blues« porträtiert Menschen, die entlang der Kensington Avenue in Nord-Philadelphia leben. Wie in vielen anderen Städten in den USA führte die industrielle Umstrukturierung in der Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts in bestimmten Gebieten zu einem wirtschaftlichen Niedergang mit hoher Arbeitslosigkeit und erheblichem Bevölkerungsverlust. Heute ist die Kensington Avenue berüchtigt für Drogen und Prostitution. Frauen stehen wartend an jeder Straßenecke. Drogen wie Heroin, Meth, Crack, Xanax und K2 werden hier offen gehandelt.

Mirja Maria Thiel

Abschiedssonate

»Farewell Sonata« erzählt über die letzten Jahre von Helmut und Gisela, die fast ihr ganzes Leben miteinander verbracht haben. Nur zwei Straßen voneinander entfernt sind sie aufgewachsen. Mit Anfang siebzig wurde bei Helmut Alzheimer diagnostiziert. Bis zuletzt pflegt Gisela ihren Mann zu Hause. Im April 2018 stirbt Helmut nach mehr als 14 Jahren mit der Alzheimer-Krankheit und 63 gemeinsamen Ehejahren.

Ada Trillo

Wenn Mauern sprechen könnten

Als Teenager bin ich von meinem Geburtsort Juarez, Mexiko, nach El Paso, Texas, gependelt, wo ich die Schule besuchte. Als amerikanischer Staatsbürger war diese Reise für mich recht einfach, aber ich wurde mir der Schwierigkeiten anderer bewusst, die versuchten, dieselbe Grenze zu überschreiten. 2017 kehrte ich in meine Heimatstadt Juarez zurück, um ein Fotoprojekt über Flüchtlinge zu beginnen. Unter der Trump-Regierung sitzen viele Migranten in Orten an der Grenze zwischen den USA und Mexiko fest.

Sebastian Wells

Hongkong (2019)

Porträts von Demonstranten in Hongkong bei den Demonstrationen gegen ein umstrittenes Gesetz für Auslieferungen an China.

Agata Wieczorek

Fetisch des Bildes

Das Projekt beschäftigt sich mit der Fetisch-Subkultur des „Masking“, in Hongkong, China und ganz Europa. Maskieren wird hauptsächlich von Männern praktiziert, die Silikonkostüme verwenden, die den menschlichen Körper nachbilden. Dahinter steckt die Grundidee, dass die menschliche Identität nicht nur aus einem, sondern aus mehreren Geschlechtern besteht, während ‚Identität‘ überhaupt als eine Frage der individuellen Wahl anstelle der vorbestimmten oder auferlegten Rolle verstanden wird.