Home Page

PORTRAITS – Hellerau Photography Award 2021

The 6th annual PORTRAITS exhibition – Saxony’s most prestigious exhibition featuring international portrait photography – has re-opened. The works of all 26 finalists will be on show until August 29th, 2021. To find out more about travelling and visiting restrictions, visit the museum’s homepage.

2021 Finalists

Constanza Portnoy (AR) · Ingmar Björn Nolting (GER) · Elena Helfrecht (GER) · Ina Schoenenburg (GER) · Rafael Heygster & Helena Manhartsberger (GER) · Charlotte Sattler (GER) · Magdalena Stengel (GER) · Sandra Buschow (GER) · Yvonne Most (GER) · Yolanda del Amo (ES/US) · Manuel Frolik (GER) · Thomas Victor & Felix Adler (GER) · Jonas Dengler (GER) · Isabel Permuy (ES) · Tamara Eckhardt (GER) · Gabriele Galimberti (IT) · Andrea Frazzetta (IT) · Gabriele Micalizzi (IT) · Arianna Arcara (IT) · Steff Gruber (CH) · Tim Franco (FR/PL/KR) · Sarah Mei Herman (NL) · Natalia Kepesz (PL/GER) · Katarzyna Kalua Kryńska (PL) · Alexey Pavlov (RU) · Ashima Yadava (US)

The Residency exhibition will open on June 18, 2021 at the traditional venue of the competition, the Festspielhaus Hellerau. At the same time, the works of the 2020/21 Residency Prize winner, Agata Wieczorek (Poland), can be viewed again in the European Center for the Arts. As in previous years, smaller satellite exhibitions also flank the main exhibition. This year they will take place in the »blue factory« or the Fotoforum Dresden. PORTRAITS finalist 2021 Alexey Pavlov (Russia) is also featured in a solo exhibition entitled »Youth of the North« at nEUROPA gallery.

Preparation of the exhibition under the direction of Henry Puchert: Nele Hölzel, Anna Eisenmenger, Hella van Lengerich

The annual exhibition will again take place in the Technical Collections in Dresden and will feature around two dozen contemporary photographic positions. Artists from ten countries, including Yolanda del Amo (USA), Constanza Portnoy (Argentina), Sarah Mei Herman (Netherlands) or Tamara Eckhardt (Germany) are represented with their works. Current series by Leipzig-based photographer Ingmar Björn Nolting (Vonovia Award for Photography 2020) or by the French-Polish photographer Tim Franco will also be on show.

Martin Morgenstern

The current theme »Togetherness« was chosen by the jury, which included Amsterdam-based photographer Carla van de Puttelaar and the Polish photographer Tomasz Lewandowski. In what is now the second year of the pandemic, it is important to emphasize the power of human coexistence, to seek to come together again after months of separation, perhaps to question unholy alliances and to address the consequences of loneliness and loss.

Martin Morgenstern

As in the previous year, the exhibition will stretch through the entire building: starting in the large exhibition room, through the former offices of the Heinrich Ernemann AG and the historic foyer, to the permanent exhibitions on various floors of the building. A series of public events round off the competition program.

Socially distanced? No way.

For the annual exhibition, another catalogue with the works of all finalists will be published by the Kunstagentur Dresden. It contains the work of all finalists and is available from the publisher, from the Dresden Technical Collections and from bookshops (114 pages, EUR 25.00, ISBN 978-3-9821847-0-8). Order one now and transform your living room into an exhibition that meets the gold standard of COVID19 social distancing rules. Shipping is free worldwide.

Ute Behrend

Our 2021 Prize Winners

Four winners from Germany/Austria, South Korea and Poland – those were the winning series of the 2021 PORTRAITS Award.

Martin Mulik

Who we are

The PORTRAITS – Hellerau Photography Award was created in 2015. Our output so far: twenty-five exhibitions, stunning photo series by over two hundred and fifty international artists and thousands of enthusiastic visitors.

Martin Mulik

International Competition for Portrait Photography

»Togetherness«, »Change«, »Presence«, »Uncovered« and »Dignity«: these were the major thematic exhibitions that HELLERAU – European Center for the Arts organized together with Kunstagentur Dresden in recent years.

Tamara Eckhardt - The Children of Carrowbrowne

Startseite

PORTRAITS – Hellerau Photography Award 2021

Die PORTRAITS – Hellerau Photography Awards werden 2021 bereits zum sechsten Mal verliehen. Der internationale Fotowettbewerb, zu dem sich 2020 Teilnehmer aus 47 Ländern, darunter Brasilien, Israel, Iran, Syrien, Australien, Japan oder Südafrika, beworben haben, wartet mit Preisgeldern von 10.000 EUR auf. Die Preisverleihung findet am Samstag, 17. April 2021, um 15 Uhr statt und wird per Streaming übertragen. Der Eröffnungstermin für die Jahresausstellung in den Technischen Sammlungen Dresden ist an die Wiedereröffnung des Museums gebunden und wird zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt bekanntgegeben.

Finalrunde 2021

Constanza Portnoy (AR) · Ingmar Björn Nolting (DE) · Elena Helfrecht (DE) · Ina Schoenenburg (DE) · Rafael Heygster & Helena Manhartsberger (DE) · Charlotte Sattler (DE) · Magdalena Stengel (DE) · Sandra Buschow (DE) · Yvonne Most (DE) · Yolanda del Amo (ES/US) · Manuel Frolik (DE) · Thomas Victor & Felix Adler (DE) · Jonas Dengler (DE) · Isabel Permuy (ES) · Tamara Eckhardt (DE) · Gabriele Galimberti (IT) · Andrea Frazzetta (IT) · Gabriele Micalizzi (IT) · Arianna Arcara (IT) · Steff Gruber (CH) · Tim Franco (FR/PL/KR) · Sarah Mei Herman (NL) · Natalia Kepesz (PL/DE) · Katarzyna Kalua Kryńska (PL) · Alexey Pavlov (RU) · Ashima Yadava (US)

Martin Morgenstern
Vorbereitung der Ausstellung unter der Leitung von Henry Puchert: Nele Hölzel, Anna Eisenmenger, Hella van Lengerich

Die Residenzpreis-Ausstellung öffnet am 12. Mai 2021 im Ausgangspunkt und „Stammhaus“ des Wettbewerbs, dem Festspielhaus Hellerau. Zeitgleich sind im Europäischen Zentrum der Künste noch einmal die Arbeiten der Residenzpreisträgerin 2020/21, Agata Wieczorek (Polen), zu sehen. Wie in den Vorjahren flankieren zudem kleinere Satellitenausstellungen die Hauptausstellung. Sie finden dieses Jahr u.a. in der blauen Fabrik oder dem Fotoforum Dresden statt. So zeigt etwa der PORTRAITS Finalist 2021 Alexey Pavlov (Russland) zusätzlich eine Einzelausstellung unter dem Titel »Youth of the North« in der Galerie nEUROPA.

Martin Morgenstern
Austellungsvorbereitung am 19. März 2021

Die große Jahresausstellung des Wettbewerbs findet erneut in den Technischen Sammlungen Dresden statt und zeigt circa zwei Dutzend zeitgenössische fotografische Positionen. Künstlerinnen und Künstler aus zehn Ländern, u. a. Yolanda del Amo (USA), Constanza Portnoy (Argentinien), Sarah Mei Herman (Niederlande) oder Tamara Eckhardt (Deutschland) sind mit Arbeiten vertreten. Zu sehen sein werden auch aktuelle Serien des Leipziger Fotografen Ingmar Björn Nolting (Vonovia Award für Fotografie 2020) oder vom französisch-polnischen Fotografen Tim Franco.

Das aktuelle Jahresthema “Togetherness” (Beisammensein) hatte die neu zusammengestellte Jury, zu der neben der Amsterdamer Fotografin Carla van de Puttelaar auch der polnische Fotograf Tomasz Lewandowski zählten, bewusst gewählt. Gilt es doch, im nunmehr zweiten Jahr der Pandemie, die Kraft des menschlichen Miteinanders zu betonen, das Wiederzusammenrücken nach Monaten der Trennung zu suchen, vielleicht auch unheilige Allianzen zu hinterfragen und die Folgen von Vereinsamung und Verlust zu thematisieren.

Martin Morgenstern
Sneak Peek…

Die Ausstellung wird sich wie im letzten Jahr durch das ganze Haus ziehen: beginnend im großen Wechselausstellungsraum über die ehemaligen Büroräume der Heinrich-Ernemann-AG und das historische Foyer bis in die ständigen Ausstellungen in verschiedenen Stockwerken des Hauses hinein. Eine Reihe öffentlicher Veranstaltungen runden das Wettbewerbsprogramm ab.

Sozial distanziert? Von wegen.

Für die jährliche Ausstellung wird ein Katalog mit den Werken aller Finalisten im Verlag der Kunstagentur Dresden veröffentlicht. Er enthält die Arbeiten aller Finalisten und ist über den Verlag, über die Technischen Sammlungen Dresden und im Buchhandel erhältlich (114 Seiten, 25,- EUR, ISBN 978-3-9821847-0-8). Bestellen Sie ihn jetzt vor – und verwandeln Sie Ihr Wohnzimmer in einen Ausstellungsraum, der den allerhöchsten “Social Distancing”-Ansprüchen genügt. Der Versand startet am 17. April und ist kostenfrei.

Ute Behrend

Die Preisträger 2020

Fünf Gewinner aus fünf verschiedenen Ländern – das waren die PORTRAITS Preisträger 2020.

Martin Mulik

Was bisher geschah

Seit 2015 gibt es die PORTRAITS – Hellerau Photography Awards. Fünfundzwanzig Ausstellungen, berührende Foto-Serien von über zweihundertfünfzig internationalen Künstlern und Tausende begeisterte Besucher sind das Ergebnis.

Bild von Ausstellung Martin Mulik

Internationaler Wettbewerb für Porträt-Fotografie

»Wandel«, »Präsenz«, »Enthüllt« und »Würde«: das waren die großen Themenausstellungen, die HELLERAU – Europäisches Zentrum der Künste gemeinsam mit der Kunstagentur Dresden in den letzten Jahren veranstaltet hat.